Baking: It's Chemistry You Can Eat!

Just another WordPress.com site

Cupcake 8: Neapolitan September 6, 2011

Filed under: Recipes,Uncategorized — kward23 @ 10:15 am

So I’ve never really been into the whole neapolitan ice cream thing, but I really do enjoy some good chocolate covered strawberries.To be quite honest, my inspiration for this one didn’t come from something I found on the internet, as usual, or something I really enjoy. The inspiration for this cupcake actually came from my most recent trip to Wal-Mart. I was wandering around the store trying to find some sort of inspiration for cupcakes to bake over the long weekend and I (almost) ran into the giant Oreo display. Apparently Nabisco is now making what they call a triple double neapolitan Oreo. It’s 3 vanilla Oreo cookies layered with both chocolate and strawberry fillings. And it looks delicious. So I decided after seeing those that I would make these cupcakes. I would have loved to do a strawberry filling instead of chocolate, but seeing as I don’t have a food processor in my dorm, I’d have to stick with a chocolate filling to avoid using jam or jelly. I ended up making vanilla cake, using the same recipe from the raspberry lemon cupcakes I made a few weeks ago, which turned out quite fantastically. I then made a dark chocolate ganache and then a strawberry frosting. I did manage to find strawberry extract at Wal-Mart (they really do sell everything!) so that I could make the strawberry frosting. I also decided to do a small garnish on these, consisting of a strawberry slice and, as usual, a drizzle of the leftover ganache. They were absolutely delicious and my friends here in Kent love me even more than before. I’m also getting on the good side of the RA’s.

 

Neapolitan Cupcakes

Makes 14 cupcakes

For the cupcakes:

1 cup (2 sticks) butter or margarine, room temperature

1 cup sugar

2 cups flour

4 eggs

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

 

Preheat oven to 350 F. Place all ingredients in a medium bowl and beat until pale and smooth. Scoop batter into lined muffin tins and bake for 20 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean. Cool completely before filling and frosting.

 

For the ganache:

1 bag (10-11 oz) chocolate chips (milk or dark will work)

1 cup heavy whipping cream

 

In a double boiler, combine chocolate chips and cream and stir until completely combined and smooth. Let cool for a few minutes, then pour into squeeze bottles. (A half batch of this would also be okay. I just like to have extra to eat.) Insert tip of squeeze bottle into cupcakes, squeezing until chocolate begins to ooze out of the top. Be careful to not overfill.

 

For the frosting:

3 cups powdered sugar

1/3 cup butter or margarine, softened

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 teaspoons strawberry extract

1 to 2 tablespoons milk

Pink or red food coloring

 

In a large bowl, combine powdered sugar and butter until light and fluffy. Add vanilla, strawberry extract, and 1 tablespoon milk. Add extra milk as needed to obtain desired consistency. Add just a little bit of pink or red food coloring to achieve desired color. I went with pink to give it the color of strawberry ice cream. Spread or pipe frosting onto cupcakes.

If desired, slice fresh strawberries to garnish cupcakes. Finish by drizzling cupcakes with leftover ganache.

 

neapolitancupcakes

 

Leave a Reply

