Baking: It's Chemistry You Can Eat!

Just another WordPress.com site

Cupcake 9: Snickerdoodle September 21, 2011

Filed under: Recipes,Uncategorized — kward23 @ 11:27 am

My mom volunteered me to bake for her cousin’s baby shower this past weekend. I agreed, of course, because I would really like to start catering events. I spent a lot of time trying to figure out what kind of cupcake I should bake so that I would please everyone and still have an appropriate cupcake. My mom’s original idea was a margarita cupcake, which I immediately shot down. That would just be wrong. And then a friend of mine passed on a link she found to snickerdoodle cupcakes with cinnamon cream cheese frosting. I decided that these were perfect, with the exception of the frosting because I just don’t like cream cheese. Snickerdoodles are my favorite cookie, so I was drawn to these cupcakes immediately. I decided to make a cinnamon buttercream, which turned out fantastically. Luckily, I was able to box a few up and take them back to school with me. So apparently cupcakes can survive a 3 hour drive! Everyone at the shower loved them and my friends at school that got one of the extras loved them as well. And if you’re going to make these, you better love cinnamon because your kitchen will definitely smell like it and it’s what these cupcakes are all about.

 

Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

Makes 18 cupcakes

For the cupcakes:

1 1/2 cups cake flour (or add 1 tbsp cornstarch per cup of all purpose flour)

1/2 tbsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tbsp cinnamon

1/2 cup butter, at room temperature

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2/3 cup milk

 

Preheat the oven to 350 F. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon; set aside. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, and then vanilla, beating until smooth. Slowly add flour and milk, alternating between dry and wet, starting and ending with dry. Mix until well incorporated. Scoop batter into a lined muffin tin. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean. Allow cupcakes to cool completely before frosting.

 

For the frosting:

3 cups powdered sugar

1/3 cup butter, room temperature

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1-2 tbsp milk

1 tbsp cinnamon

 

In a medium bowl, combine butter and powdered sugar until well combined. Add vanilla and 1 tbsp milk. Begin adding cinnamon until you reach the desired taste. Add milk until you reach the desired consistency. Pipe or spread onto cupcakes. If you want, sprinkle cinnamon sugar over top of the cupcakes.

 

snickerdoodlecupcakes

 

One Response to “Cupcake 9: Snickerdoodle”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Looks great! Catering events is fun, but it can get a little stressful too (that’s when I turn into super-perfectionist!). I have Snickerdoodle cupcakes on my to-do list, so I’ll have to come back to your recipe for inspiration 🙂


Leave a Reply

