Baking: It's Chemistry You Can Eat!

Just another WordPress.com site

Cupcake 10: Peppermint Patty November 13, 2011

Filed under: Recipes,Uncategorized — kward23 @ 3:49 pm

Alright, alright I know I’ve been slacking on updates. Forgive me, I’m a busy college student. But I have been baking and trying to come up with new and fantastic ideas!

I was looking for ideas one day when my roommate offered me her 3 different cupcake books to look at. I was browsing through, not really finding anything that really drew me in. Until the end of the third book when I found something peppermint and I knew I wanted to do peppermint. The only problem was, what could I possibly do with it? It’s too early in the season for candy canes (not until the day after Thanksgiving!). I was on my way to work one day and it hit me. Peppermint patties. I made brownie bites with peppermint patties in them my freshman year and they were delicious. I had already bought peppermint extract, so I was all set. The only problem was how I should properly recreate one of my favorite candies. I settled for a dark chocolate cake with a white chocolate peppermint ganache and then a frosting that included a bit of that ganache. I will admit I took that idea from the butterbeer cupcakes that I absolutely adore. Anyways, these cupcakes turned out fantastically and were adored by everyone. And then I forgot to take a picture, so I apologize!

 

Peppermint Patty Cupcakes

Makes 18 cupcakes

For the cupcakes:

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 2/3 cups sugar

3/4 cup butter or margarine, room temperature

2/3 cup unsweetened baking cocoa (I used Hershey’s special dark. yum!)

1 1/4 cups water

1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 eggs

Heat oven to 350 F. In a large bowl, beat butter until softened, then add in sugar and beat until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, mixing until well combined, then add vanilla. In a separate bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking soda, salt, and baking powder. Add about 1/4 of the dry mixture and beat well. Add about 1/3 of the water and beat until well combined. Continue adding the dry mix and water, ending with dry, mixing each time until well combined, scraping the bowl as necessary. Scoop into a lined cupcake tin and bake 20 to 25 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean. Cool completely before filling and frosting.

 

For the ganache:

1 11-oz. package white chocolate chips
1 cup heavy cream

Peppermint extract (about 1 teaspoon)

In a double boiler (heat-proof bowl over a pot of simmering water on the stove), combine white chocolate chips and heavy cream and stir until completely combined and smooth. Add peppermint extract a few drops at a time until desired flavor is reached. Cool to room temperature. Set aside 1/3 cup for the frosting. Fill a squeeze bottle with ganache and insert into the center of each cupcake, squeezing until filling begins to overflow.

 

For the frosting:

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1/3 cup peppermint ganache
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon peppermint extract
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 16-oz. package powdered sugar
Splash of milk or cream (as needed)

Cream butter in a large bowl until fluffy. Add in ganache, vanilla, peppermint extract, and salt and mix until well combined. Beat in powdered sugar 1 cup at a time until reaching desired consistency. Add milk or cream by the Tablespoon as needed. Frost cupcakes and top with half of a York peppermint patty (if you want to). You can also melt dark chocolate to drizzle over top of them.

 

Leave a Reply

